Georgia’s Hands-Free Auto Law: What You Need to Know

Georgia's hands-free auto law

Our Analysis

TWG - Insurance Data Analytics

Georgia’s House Bill 673, also known as the “Hands-Free Law,” became effective in 2018. It was passed to protect people and reduce accidents caused by distracted driving. According to the Georgia Governor’s Office of Highway Safety, the 15 states that passed hands-free driving laws saw a 16 percent decrease in traffic fatalities in the two years after the law was passed. Also, traffic fatalities were reduced even more in subsequent years.

Our Actionable Advice

TWG - Landing Page Cube

What does Georgia’s Hands-Free Law state?

  • Drivers must refrain from physically holding or supporting a wireless telecommunications device for any reason while driving a vehicle. They cannot have the device in their hand or touching any part of their body while talking or driving.  

What drivers can and cannot do: 

  • Drivers are prohibited from writing, sending, or reading any text-based communication, and from watching, recording, or broadcasting videos, on a wireless communications device while operating a vehicle. This includes text messages, emails, social media content, or other internet data while on the road.  
  • The phone or device can only be used with an earpiece, wrist device, mounted phone holder, or through the vehicle’s Bluetooth connection.

What are the penalties and how long do violations stay on your record?

  • 1st conviction – 1 point and fine. First-time offenders can have the charge dropped by showing the court they have obtained a device that allows them to talk on a phone with hands-free technology or devices.
  • 2nd conviction within 24 months – 2 points and fine.
  • 3rd or more convictions within 24 months – 3 points and fine.
  • 15 points within 24 months for all combined violations will trigger a license suspension.

How does it affect my insurance premiums?

  • If you are caught driving distracted, your auto insurance rates will very likely increase. If you cause an accident because of distracted driving, your premiums will increase significantly, and you may be responsible for repairs, medical expenses, or even legal fees if other parties sue you.

Mercury Insurance Tips to stay focused and drive safely:

  • Use a hands-free device for calls, and enable “Do Not Disturb” mode.
  • Get everything set up before you hit the road, including your playlist, navigation, snacks and drinks, and adjust mirrors and seats. 
  • Stay focused while driving, eyes on the road, hands on the wheel. Avoid multitasking while driving.

The Big Takeaway

TWG - Filling Insurance GAP

Courtney, our Home and Auto Insurance expert, is in your corner. If you have questions about your Home or Auto Insurance or would like us to review your policy or provide a quote, please contact Courtney at 678-906-2008 ext. 1209 or by email.  

Resources: