Our Analysis
E-bikes have grown in popularity, but there is a lot of confusion about how to ride them safely. This blog summarizes the laws, insurance, where you can ride, and licensing requirements, as well as safety tips so you can feel confident and secure when riding your E-bike.
Our Actionable Advice
What is an E-Bike?
An E-bike is a device with fully operational pedals and a saddle, 2 wheels, and a motor less than or equal to 750W.
E-Bike Laws
- Classification System:
- Class 1: pedal assist only; motor turns on when you pedal.
- Class 2: throttle assist; motor works even if you do not pedal (using a throttle).
- Class 3: high-speed pedal assist only; the motor only turns on when you pedal.
- Maximum speed and motor limits per class:
- Class 1: less than 20 mph
- Class 2: less than 20 mph
- Class 3: less than 28 mph
- Motor limit less than 750W for all classes
- An E-bike is no longer legal if it does not have fully operational pedals and the motor output exceeds 750W.
E-Bike Insurance
- Georgia mandates NO Liability Insurance coverage for E-bikes.
- Your Homeowners and Renters Insurance typically excludes E-bikes.
- There are a couple of carriers that have specialized insurance coverage for E-bikes.
- If you are in an accident with a car, the at-fault driver’s auto policy may or may not cover your injuries. You will need a police investigation and report documenting what happened to determine who was at fault and whether all road laws, rules, and regulations were followed by both parties.
Where You Can Ride E-Bikes
- Roads and Streets:
- If your E-bike meets the definitions above, generally you can ride under the same rules as bicycles on roads and streets. You must ride in the designated bike lane or near the right side of the road or street, with common-sense practices (turning left, avoiding hazards, and lanes too narrow to share safely).
- Bike Paths and Multi-Use Paths:
- Class 1 and Class 2 MAY be allowed on bicycle paths or multi-use paths where bicycles are permitted, but a local authority can prohibit any E-bikes on these surfaces.
- Class 3 E-bikes are NOT allowed on bicycle paths or multi-use paths unless the path is within or adjacent to a highway or a local authority allows it.
- Natural-surface tread trails: the managing agency will regulate which devices are allowed.
- Sidewalk Rules and Local Authority Control:
- Statewide, Georgia prohibits driving a vehicle on sidewalks except for driveways – but it does allow a local government to authorize manual bicycles on sidewalks by riders age 12 or younger – so check local rules and signage and follow those rules.
- In practice, E-bike sidewalk riding is usually NOT allowed. Check local rules and signage and follow those rules.
PRO tip: If you’re not sure, before you head out, check your city rules, regulations, and signage to determine where you can ride an E-bike.
Helmet, Age and Licensing Requirements
- Helmet Requirements:
- Under age 16 (any bicycle): a bicycle helmet is required for the operator and passenger on roads/streets, bike lanes or multi-use paths, and sidewalks under local control.
- Class 3 (all ages): no person can operate or ride as a passenger on a Class 3 electric-assisted bicycle without a helmet.
- Minimum Age Requirements:
- Class 1 and 2: no statewide class-specific minimum age; youth helmet rules apply.
- Class 3: must be 15+ to operate. Younger riders can only be a passenger.
- License Requirements:
- NO driver’s license required for Class 1 and 2.
- Minimum age of 15 years old and NO driver’s license required for Class 3.
- Vehicle registration and plates are not required in Georgia.
E-Bike Safety Tips
- Know the class of your E-bike: class 1, 2, or 3.
- Know the maximum speed per class.
- Know where you can ride your E-bike.
- Know the operator age limit for each class.
- Know and follow vehicle rules: stop signs and red lights, bike lanes, yield when you don’t have the right of way, and turn signals and hand signals.
- Always wear an approved helmet.
- Be visible using lights, reflectors, etc.
- Wear bright clothing.
- Know and follow the E-bike rules for your state, county, and city. For example: minimum age, helmet requirements, and restrictions for where E-bikes can and cannot be ridden.
- Perform regular maintenance and basic safety checks. For example: tires are fully inflated and have no leaks, brakes work correctly, and the wheels are attached firmly.
- Consider an E-bike with built-in safety features, such as motor interrupt brake levers; disc brakes; Class 1, 2, or 3 stickers; and reflectors.
The Big Takeaway
Courtney, our Home and Auto Insurance expert, is in your corner. If you have questions about your Home or Auto Insurance, or would like us to review your policy or provide a quote, please contact Courtney at 678-906-2008 ext. 1209 or send her an email.
Resources: